Skip to content

Ginger under the tongue

February 1, 2013

Okay, this is going to be pretty practical. If you have the flu, the stomach flu, and you need to quiet your tummy, putting ginger under your tongue is the best thing I know of. Just an ordinary thin slice of ginger from the grocery store. In fact, the first time I used ginger, I didn’t have fresh in the house and used dried ginger from my spice cabinet; it worked. I was alone in the house at the time, and I was at that point where you have to say to yourself: I’m getting dehydrated; how safe is this given that there’s nobody here to find me if I collapse?

I had to stop vomiting, and I called the cousin who knows Useful Things and she told me this and I stopped.

So that’s the first practical thing I can say.

Grandfather’s OJ

The second is what we call grandfather’s orange juice:

  • 1/2 c fresh squoze orange juice (We always call is fresh squoze for this recipe.)
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1/4 t baking soda.

Take one teaspoon. Fifteen minutes later, 2 teaspoons. Fifteen minutes later, 4 tsp. Fifteen minutes later double that. Double every 15 minutes until it’s gone.

It’s not 100%, but it helps; sometimes it stops the cycle. It’s electrolytically balanced, I’m sure. Grandfather was a doctor.

Hydrate

If you don’t have the flu yet, get hydrated. Hydration is not just water in your tummy; it’s water in the cells of your body, and it takes a long time. Don’t go into the flu already dehydrated just because it’s winter. Fill your body with all the water you can take, little by little. Maybe it will protect you from the flu; at least it will protect you during the flu and give you a bit more stamina.

Alkalize

An acid body is very subject to disease and very slow to heal. One of the signs of acidity is saliva that is foamy instead of clear. Oddly, one of the best alkalizers is — lemon juice! Not orange, not grapefruit; but lemon juice or lime. It is the minerals that give it an alkaline effect on your system, and there are other fruits and vegetables, especially greens. When you’re ready for meat, grass-fed is more alkaline.

Buteyko breathing

Because you need oxygen in every cell of your body, you may think that deep breathing will aid in health. Quite the reverse!

Did you ever think to ask yourself: if my hemoglobin is so glad to pick up oxygen from my lungs, what makes it so ready to drop off that oxygen in the cell? Turns out it’s not so easy. You need carbon dioxide in your blood to get that oxygen dropped off, and when you deep breathe, you empty carbon dioxide from your lungs, and, in turn, from your bloodstream.

For more accessible oxygen, breathe less. If you find yourself breathing fast when you are sick, either turn on your left side, or try to sit up and breathe less. Paul O’Connell’s site┬áis my favorite on this topic. If I am too washed out to work on my breathing, just listening to his stuff helps. On the other hand, if you’re not sick, it might be a good idea to learn a bit while you have a good capacity for attention. Proper breathing may help you to avoid the flu or diminish your symptoms.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

