Skip to content

Carrots or crackers

September 19, 2013
tags:

My last meal with my 2-year-old grandson was lunch. He had been outside and began to play with his trucks as soon as he came indoors. When I called him for lunch, he obviously didn’t want to come; he was playing his own game and wasn’t hungry enough to care for lunch. I don’t remember what he said, probably “I don’t want lunch” or something like that. It was, from within his world, definitive.

So, what then? I could demand that he come anyway, carry him to the table kicking and howling, and offer him chocolates if he finished his soup. Or I could leave him to his trucks and figure his Mom could feed him when he was hungry enough to come on his own.

Instead, I asked him whether he wanted to have carrots or crackers with his soup. “Carrots” he answered, and came trotting right to the table where he sat while I peeled a carrot, since I didn’t actually have one ready.

Will food. One little decision to let him own the act of lunching, and he was with it. It was still amazing to me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

